Beauty and the Beast

I feel safe with you
Because you only crumble me, when others tear me apart.
I feel safe with you
Because you are gentler while breaking my heart.
I feel safe with you
Because your blades in me don’t go as far and deep
I feel safe with you
Because the cliffs you push me off are not half as steep
I feel safe with you
Because now I writhe in much less pain
I feel safe with you
Because my bedsheets now bear a lighter stain
I feel safe with you
Because it is not so frequently that I now choke
I feel safe with you
Because you suffocate me in rooms with much less smoke
I feel safe with you
Because you let me breathe before pushing me in to drown
I feel safe with you
Because now my tears have eased into a mere frown
I feel safe with you
Because their hearts were frozen, but yours is only cold
I feel safe with you
Because the daggers you throw at me are all emblazoned in gold
I feel safe with you
Because you’re the least ugly monster I ever chose
I feel safe with you
Because when I’ve dealt with the thorns, I’m sure I will find a rose.

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

